Matter of faith

My faith is the most valuable treasure I hold—so precious that I don’t see anything else I own amounting to it. But its rarity also makes it one of the hardest to keep, for the firmness that comes along with a strong faith can lead others to shame and hate you and your belief, but all you can do is love back.

The things I’d do to keep my faith ablaze;

I’d trade all that I have to set afoot

In paradise, at Father’s eyes I’ll gaze

Although for it, I’ll bathe in chaffing soot;

I wish I had not spent my days in fear

Of being shunned for truths I had to voice

For merely that the ways He wished to steer

Don’t drift with rosy courses of their choice;

My prayers are all I have to convalesce

Should for my stance my loved ones turn away

And think, for faults, I loved them any less;

If they see me absurd, I’d only say,

“Because to love is harder than to hate

But most fulfilling post my earthly fate”

***

Thanks for reading! What do you think? I’d love to hear from you in the comments below. 🙂

Leave a Reply

